A Different Kind of Boy

He is different. He is not the athletic boy who would be shooting hoops in the backyard. He does not like sports. He would rather ride his bike “leisurely”, as what he describes his biking, around the neighborhood discovering insects, grime or what have you.

He loves to explore around the house. Sometimes I would catch him in the bathroom just observing whatever items he sees there. He would do experiments on his own and I would just allow him to discover new concepts.

Wile homeschooling, he would not sit still unless it’s History or Science. Every time I ask him to read his lesson he would always echo it back to me. There are times I would be eager to hear him talk but other times I would just pretend to be listening because I’m busy doing something else. But he knows that I’m preoccupied with other things and that I’m not giving him the attention he needs. He would call my attention and the busted mom would then try to make lame excuses. If I just let him talk, oh boy, I don’t think half a day is enough! He would be babbling endlessly about whatever lesson we have that day. It’s obvious he enjoys Science a lot but I have to cut him so that we can finish other subjects as well. Once I told him he could be a news reporter some day and he excitedly agreed. Public speaking is not an issue for this boy 😄

Because he has a gift of gab, he would not be shy in giving his opinion about anything. When he sees that something is wrong, let’s say, the neighbors did not throw their trash properly, he would blurt out, “Mama, I would make a rule that those who don’t throw their garbage properly should be punished.” I have written a blog last year about the things he would do of he becomes the president of our country, the Philippines.

He is very ticklish. He does not like hugs to much. He is sensitive to touch. I had a problem with this kind of sensitivity during meal time when he was younger. He would gag when he feels a teeny tiny slice of onion in his food. If he chews just a tinge of fat in the meat, he would spit it out and not eat it. I used to scold him for doing that but then I realized I cannot change his senses. He was born with really heightened senses. Instead of scolding him, I just learned to accept it and when i did that meal time was no longer a heavy task. We could now enjoy dinner or lunch without any high-pitched tones or sobbing sounds. In fact, his appetite improved probably because he has matured and that he began enjoying foods he didn’t like when he was younger.

He is sensitive. I could see his heart goes out to those who are disadvantaged or those who have been neglected or abused. His expressions says a lot and that most of the time he shows sadness and disappointment at how other people are treated. He gets easily affected that some TV shows make him really angry that I could feel his heart pumping loudly. He gets too emotional that he does not mind expressing it all. When it has become too much already, my husband and I would correct him and check his heart. He would be reminded that it’s just a show and that the characters are not real.

There are challenging days with Coby as well as hilarious moments too. But at the end of the day, he is my first-born. He is my only son. He is uniquely Coby and God made him that way. He still has a lot of learning and transforming to do but I will be here to guide him and nurture him so long as God wants me to.

20130318-170358.jpg

20130318-170421.jpg

20130318-170440.jpg

20130318-170507.jpg

20130318-170530.jpg

20130318-170616.jpg

Leave a Reply

